Welcome

(Contact Info: larry at larryblakeley.com)

Important Note: You will need to click this icon to download the free needed to view most of the images on this Web site - just a couple of clicks and you're "good to go." For reasons why - go here.

A listing and access link to all
song lyrics and mp3 audio files http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs.htm,
poetry http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/poetry.htm,
quotations http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/quotations.htm, and
essays written by Larry Blakeley http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/articles/articles_larry_blakeley.htm, all of which are used to tell the story told in this Web site, can be accessed by going to each respective link set out above.

My son, Larry Blakeley http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/larryblakeley_photos_jpeg.htm manages this Web site and the following Web sites:

Larry Blakeley (Contact Info: larry at larryblakeley.com)

Leslie (Blakeley) Adkins - my granddaughter

Lori Ann Blakeley (June 20, 1985 - May 4, 2005) - my granddaughter

Evan Blakeley- my grandson

Major Roy James Blakeley (December 10, 1928 - July 22, 1965) - USAF (KIA)

When I was young my dad would say
Come on son let's go out and play

No matter how hard I try
No matter how many tears I cry
No matter how many years go by
I still can't say goodbye

- "I Still Can't Say Goodbye," Performer: Chet Atkins

MP3 audio file/lyrics http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/still_cant_say_goodbye.htm

For a larger image click on the photograph.

 

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/articles/monthly_articles/desktop_publishing_lblakeley20040916.htm

In those days you had to go to a " 'typesetter' for high print quality". When I worked as a petroleum landman (January 1978 - April 1980) for W. B. (Buz) Sawyer (on the right in this photograph - Brownie Johnson on the left http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/articles/monthly_articles/buz_sawyer_brownie_johnson197912.jpg), McAlester Fuel Company, Magnolia, Arkansas, they had their own typesetter to print oil and gas exploration agreements.

Post Date: June 30, 2007 at 7:35 AM CDT; 1235 GMT

***************************************************************

Added a Web page for a collage of photographs http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/larryblakeley_photos_jpeg.htm

Post Date: June 29, 2007 at 7:15 PM CDT; June 30, 2007 at 0015 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/articles/another_funeral.htm

The confusion that our male youth are faced with is being recorded in the lyrics of their music - "Father of Mine" http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/father_of_mine19971007.htm

Post Date: June 27, 2007 at 2:25 PM CDT; 1925 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/end_of_innocence.htm

A significant part of my life story surrounding the lyrics of this song here.
http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/end_of_innocence_life_story_larryblakeley.htm

Post Date: June 26, 2007 at 10:40 PM CDT; June 27, 2007 at 0340 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/index.htm

... O beautiful, for spacious skies
But now those skies are threatening
They're beating plowshares into swords
For this tired old man that we elected king

["Midnight Address" on 2nd Gulf of Tonkin incident, August 4, 1964. Photo credit: Cecil Stoughton]


Armchair warriors often fail

[White House Situation Room, (L-R:) George Christian, President Lyndon B. Johnson, Gen. Robert Ginsburg, Walt Rostow look at relief map of Khe Sanh area, Vietnam. February 16, 1968. Photo credit: Yoichi R. Okamoto]

Post Date: June 21, 2007 at 12:45 AM CDT; 0545 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/index.htm

His love for his mother, father, brother, and the Blakeley/Vickrey/Ashton clan of family ... and for the girls! http://www.royblakeley.name/roy_james_blakeley/dad_girls.djvu

Post Date: June 20, 2007 at 9:57 AM CDT; 1457 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web pages http://www.royblakeley.name/index.htm, http://www.royblakeley.name/roy_james_blakeley/chu_lai_airfield.htm, and http://www.royblakeley.name/roy_james_blakeley/marines_wade_ashore.htm

Some folks inherit star spangled eyes
Ooh, they send you down to war, Lord
And when you ask them, "How much should we give?"
Ooh, they only answer More! more! more! yoh

It ain't me, it ain't me, I ain't no military son, son
It ain't me, it ain't me; I ain't no fortunate one, one

- "Fortunate Son," MP3 audio file/lyrics, John Fogerty (Creedence Clearwater Revival) http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/fortunate_son.htm

Post Date: June 19, 2007 at 10:20 AM CDT; 1520 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/roy_james_blakeley/chu_lai_airfield.htm

The following is a letter dated July 27, 2006 from an eyewitness on the ground, Michael E. Holmes (L/Cpl USMC), describing my father's heroism while attempting to make an emergency landing at Chu Lai.

27 Jul 2006
I was on the runway at Chu Lai the day Captain Blakeley crashed.

He reported to the Chu Lai Tower that he had a "dead stick" and no oil pressure.

There was an ammunition dump on his approach.

He could not get the aircraft centered on the runway which ultimately caused his death.

He used power to ensure that he did not land short and hit the ammunition dump.

It is believed that he cut power (several of us heard the power coming off the aircraft) in order to avoid crashing into the Chu Lai tower area. As a result of the lack of power the aircraft's nose probe hit a sand dune and exploded.

This very brave man could have bailed out but instead stayed with the aircraft ensuring no friendly casualties. He has had my respect all of these years and while talking with friends about Vietnam heroes, he is at the top of my list.

From a ground observer of the incident,
Michael E. Holmes
L/Cpl USMC
Chu Lai 1965
Hang Dong, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50230

Post Date: June 19, 2007 at 9:40 AM CDT; 1440 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web pages http://www.royblakeley.name/index.htm and http://www.royblakeley.name/roy_james_blakeley/chu_lai_airfield.htm

"Spiritual," Josh Haden (Johnny Cash version - MP3 audio file/lyrics) http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/johnny_cash/spiritual.htm

Post Date: June 17, 2007 at 10:40 AM CDT; 1540 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/roy_james_blakeley/letter_rblakeley19650704.htm

I fly two bombing missions tomorrow, both in North Vietnam!! We dropped napalm today for the first time.

[Image not part of letter]

[Vietnamese children running after napalm attack]

Post Date: June 17, 1965 at 2:15 AM CDT; 0715 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/roy_james_blakeley/vietnam_history.htm

These are "America's sons." This Web site is a story of more that my father - it is about "America's sons." Some of their names are here as evidence. Their fate determined by a few politicians and their advisors.

President Lyndon B. Johnson listens to tape sent by Captain Charles Robb from Vietnam, July 31, 1968. Photo credit: Jack Kightlinger

I don't know about you, but as long as I have been walking this earth I have yet to know anyone else on earth that I would trust with this amount of power.

Post Date: June 17, 2007 at 2:00 AM CDT; 0700 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/roy_james_blakeley/marines_wade_ashore.htm

At 0903 on March 8, 1965 the 9th Marine Expeditionary Brigade (MEB) commanded by Brigadier General Frederick J. Karch, landed at Da Nang. The MEB included two Marine Battalion Landing Teams (BLTs) - 3/9 (Lieutenant Colonel Charles E. McPartlin, Jr.) which landed over Red Beach 2, and 1/3 (Lieutenant Colonel Herbert J. Bain) which arrived by air from Okinawa. The 9th MEB mission was to defend the Da Nang Airbase. This was the first U.S. ground combat unit to land in the Republic of Vietnam.

Initially, the Marine intervention was to be limited. The JCS landing order directed that the Marine force "will not, repeat will not, engage in day-to-day actions against the VC." The role of the Marines was to protect the base. The area around Da Nang would be protected by the South Vietnamese armed forces. But the Marines' mission was enlarged as the American troop buildup continued. By April they were patrolling into the densely populated area south of Da Nang.

Marine commanders felt they could not adequately defend the airbase if they were unable to patrol farther, and in July their tactical area of responsibility (TAOR) was expanded to include the region south of the Cau Do River, a few miles southwest of Da Nang. On July 12, elements of the 9th Marine Regiment moved into the area and quickly received fire from a VC force coming from the hamlet of Cam Ne 4 (numbered in order to identify it in the complex of six villages of the same name). The Marines pulled back and called for close air support.

"What Really Happened at Cam Ne?" Although described as one of the top works of 20th-century journalism, the CBS report presented only one side of the story, Peter Brush, http://www.historynet.com/. http://www.historynet.com/magazines/vietnam/3027741.html

Post Date: June 7, 2007 at 11:20 CDT; June 8, 2007 at 0420 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following additional link for further information about the United States involvement in Vietnam to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/roy_james_blakeley/vietnam_history.htm

The Web page of Vincent Ferraro, (The Ruth C. Lawson Professor of International Politics, Mount Holyoke College - Documents Relating to American Foreign Policy - Vietnam http://www.mtholyoke.edu/acad/intrel/vietnam.htm

Post Date: June 7, 2007 at 6:05 PM CDT; 2305 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following link to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/end_of_innocence.htm

YouTube video with Don Henley and Bruce Hornsby performing http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Aa0HnODfR1k&mode=related&search=

Post Date: June 6, 2007 at 10:00 PM CDT; 0300 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to each htm page of this Web site

A listing and access link to all
song lyrics and mp3 audio files http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs.htm,
poetry http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/poetry.htm,
quotations http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/quotations.htm, and
essays written by Larry Blakeley http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/articles/articles_larry_blakeley.htm, all of which are used to tell the story told in this Web site, can be accessed by going to each respective link set out above.

Post Date: June 3, 2007 at 5:40 PM CDT; 2240 GMT

***************************************************************

Added 53 MP3 audio files for all songs referred to in this Web site, as set out on Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs.htm

Post Date: June 1, 2007 at 3:30 AM CDT; 0830 GMT