Welcome

(Contact Info: larry at larryblakeley.com)

Important Note: You will need to click this icon to download the free needed to view most of the images on this Web site - just a couple of clicks and you're "good to go." For reasons why - go here.

A listing and access link to all:
song lyrics and mp3 audio files http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/ (all of which are a part of this Web site) can be accessed simply by selecting the "htm" file for the song you want;

poetry http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/poetry.htm;

quotations http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/quotations.htm; and

essays written by Larry Blakeley http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/articles/articles_larry_blakeley.htm,

all of which are used to tell the story in this Web site, can be accessed by going to each respective link set out above.

My son, Larry Blakeley http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/larryblakeley_photos_jpeg.htm manages this Web site and the following Web sites:

Larry Blakeley (Contact Info: larry at larryblakeley.com)

Leslie (Blakeley) Adkins - my granddaughter

Lori Ann Blakeley (June 20, 1985 - May 4, 2005) - my granddaughter

Evan Blakeley- my grandson

Major Roy James Blakeley (December 10, 1928 - July 22, 1965) - USAF (KIA)

When I was young my dad would say
Come on son let's go out and play

No matter how hard I try
No matter how many tears I cry
No matter how many years go by
I still can't say goodbye

- "I Still Can't Say Goodbye," Performer: Chet Atkins

MP3 audio file/lyrics http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/still_cant_say_goodbye.htm

For a larger image click on the photograph.

 

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/index.htm

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace;
where there is hatred, let me sow love ... - "(The Peace) Prayer of Saint Francis," Audio MP3/Lyrics http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/prayer_saint_francis.htm

Post Date: September 30, 2007 at 10:40 PM CDT; October 1, 2007 at 0340 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/index.htm

My heart has been burdened with the pain and sadness from my realization of just how unnecessary the Vietnam conflict really was. Oh, how I was saddened by the loss of so many lives. I still ask, "for what and why?" I changed forever ... never to return. The party was over ....

It's my party and I'll cry if I want to
Cry if I want to, cry if I want to
You would cry too if it happened to you

- "It's My Party (I'll Cry if I Want To)," Lesley Gore

The world is a bad place, a bad place
A terrible place to live

The changing of sunlight to moonlight
Reflections of my life
Oh, how they fill my eyes

All my sorrow, sad tomorrow
Take me back to my own home
All my crying (all my crying), feel I'm dying, dying

- "Reflections of My Life," Audio MP3/Lyrics http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/reflections_of_my_life.htm

Post Date: September 25, 2007 at 8:30 AM CDT; 1330 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/roy_james_blakeley/major_roy_james_blakeley2.htm

100 missions over North VietNam in the F-104C by Harold Alston (Capt Harold Alston, 435th TFS, 479th TFW George AFB), first to complete 100 combat missions over North VietNam in the F-104C on September 30, 1966, Udorn Royal Thai Air Base http://www.916-starfighter.de/SEA100.htm, Hubert Peitzmeier 916 German Starfighter Web site http://www.916-starfighter.de/

Post Date: September 24, 2007 at 7:45 AM CDT; 1245 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/larry_blakeley_cyberspace.htm

And, I wouldn't want this to be my legacy as a father, now would I?

And the cats in the cradle and the silver spoon
Little boy blue and the man in the moon
When you comin' home, dad, I don’t know when,
But we'll get together then,
You know we'll have a good time then.

- "Cats in the Cradle," Sandy and Harry Chapin http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/cats_in_cradle.htm

Post Date: September 23, 2007 at 9:38 AM CDT; 1438 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/larryblakeley_photos_jpeg.htm

Do not stand at my grave and weep,
I am not there, I do not sleep...
Do not stand at my grave and cry,
I am not there. I do not die.

- "Do Not Stand at my Grave and Weep (MP3 Audio/Lyrics)," http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/poetry/do_not_stand_at_grave_weep.htm

Post Date: September 22, 2007 at 8:00 PM CDT; September 23, 2007 at 0100 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/index.htm

IF you can keep your head when all about you
Are losing theirs and blaming it on you,
If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,
But make allowance for their doubting too;
If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
Or being lied about, don't deal in lies,
Or being hated, don't give way to hating, ...

Yours is the Earth and everything that's in it,
And - which is more - you'll be a Man, my son!

- "If...," Rudyard Kipling http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/poetry/if.htm

Post Date: September 22, 2007 at 1:48 AM CDT; 0648 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/larryblakeley_photos_jpeg.htm

Laugh, and the world laughs with you ;
Weep, and you weep alone ; ...

Rejoice, and men will seek you ;
Grieve, and they turn and go ;
They want full measure of all your pleasure,
But they do not need your woe.
Be glad, and your friends are many ;
Be sad, and you lose them all.
There are none to decline your nectared wine,
But alone you must drink life's gall.

- "Solitude," Ella Wheeler Wilcox http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/poetry/solitude.htm

Post Date: September 21, 2007 at 10:55 PM CDT; September 22, 2007 at 0355 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/roy_james_blakeley/george_436th_fighter_squadron/george.htm

USAF Accident/Incident Report - AF Form 71 dated Wednesday, February 6, 1963; Pilot: 1/Lt Frederick B. Alvord III (A03086546); Location: Moron Air Base, Spain; Wing: 479 TFW; Squadron: 436 TFS; Flight Leader: Capt. Roy James Blakeley (45482A); Aircraft Involved: F-104C (Serial No. 56-0899). http://www.royblakeley.name/roy_james_blakeley/george_436th_fighter_squadron/accident_report_F104C19630602.htm

Post Date: September 9, 2007 at 9:45 AM CDT; 1445 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/roy_james_blakeley/major_roy_james_blakeley2.htm

The following excerpt is from Harold Alston's entry into his daily journal for Thursday, July 22, 1965:

"Tenth mission today. I was originally scheduled as spare, but at the last minute Major Eusebio Arriaga (Operations Officer) took himself off and I replaced him. The target was a VC build-up west of Chu Lai. Our bombs and strafing were good and right on the target. I don’t know how to write the rest. Roy was killed today..." - Journal entry for combat mission on 22 July (Thursday) 1965, Harold R. Alston, 1 Lt, USAF, 436 TFS (F-104C), DaNang AB, South Viet Nam http://www.royblakeley.name/roy_james_blakeley/alston_journal_entry19650722.htm

The following response was made by Harold Alston in an email exchange with me on Thursday, September 6, 2007 to my following questions:

"Although your journal doesn’t mention ground fire damage I presume the damage (you) described was a direct result of same. Is that right? And, was possibly the landing gear not functioning?"

regarding the damage done to the aircraft after being informed of the following ground eyewitness account and official investigative report of the accident:

"Larry, why the leading edge flap separated is a mystery to me. It certainly could have been enemy fire. The mission was in bright daylight and none of us saw any fire which would not be surprising considering the sun angle. I think the damage on the fuselage was from being hit by the flap. It may have caused the oil pressure problem or there were other components damaged that were not visible to me. It certainly is also possible the landing gear failed to extend because of compounded problems. Roy had no chance to go around and pull up and eject by that point. I have not heard of a leading edge flap separating from mechanical failure ever before, but I have not researched the problem other than my experience at George, Luke and Cold Lake Air Bases. Thanks for the other reports (ground eyewitness and official investigative report). I had not seen them. Harold"

Post Date: September 8, 2007 at 8:35 AM CDT; 1335 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/larryblakeley_photos_jpeg.htm

Oh well, I'm tired and so weary
But I must go along
'Til the lord will come and call, call me away, oh yes ...
There will be peace in the valley for me, someday
There will be peace in the valley for me, oh Lord I pray
There'll be no sadness, no sorrow (oh, my Lordy, no)
No trouble I'll see
There will be peace in the valley for me, for me

- "(There Will Be) Peace In the Valley (For Me)," Thomas A. Dorsey (Performed by Red Foley)
MP3 audio file/lyrics http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/peace_in_valley.htm

Post Date: September 8, 2007 at 12:35 AM CDT; 0535 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/larryblakeley_photos_jpeg.htm

The changing of sunlight to moonlight
Reflections of my life
Oh, how they fill my eyes ...
All my sorrow, sad tomorrow
Take me back to my own home
All my crying (all my crying), feel I'm dying, dying
Take me back to my own home
I'm changing, arranging, I'm changing
I'm changing everything
Ah, everything around me
- "Reflections of My Life," Marmalade
MP3 audio file/lyrics http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/reflections_of_my_life.htm

 

Post Date: September 7, 2007 at 10.45 AM CDT; 1545 GMT

***************************************************************

The following was added to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/roy_james_blakeley/major_roy_james_blakeley2.htm

The following information was received by Lt. Colonel Harold Alston in an email dated September 1, 2007:

Larry Shassetz died of a heart attack a while back while living in Litchfield Park, AZ. His widow still resides there. John Olson also died in Connecticut where he lived after retiring from the AF. He had cancer. I have not been successful in locating Walt Harris, but suspect he returned to Tennessee.

Post Date: September 1, 2007 at 6:00 PM CDT; 2300 GMT