Welcome

(Contact Info: larry at larryblakeley.com)

Important Note: You will need to click this icon to download the free needed to view most of the images on this Web site - just a couple of clicks and you're "good to go." For reasons why - go here.

A listing and access link to all:
song lyrics and mp3 audio files http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/ (all of which are a part of this Web site) can be accessed simply by selecting the "htm" file for the song you want;

poetry http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/poetry.htm;

quotations http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/quotations.htm; and

essays written by Larry Blakeley http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/articles/articles_larry_blakeley.htm,

all of which are used to tell the story in this Web site, can be accessed by going to each respective link set out above.

My son, Larry Blakeley http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/larryblakeley_photos_jpeg.htm manages this Web site and the following Web sites:

Larry Blakeley (Contact Info: larry at larryblakeley.com)

Leslie (Blakeley) Adkins - my granddaughter

Lori Ann Blakeley (June 20, 1985 - May 4, 2005) - my granddaughter

Evan Blakeley- my grandson

Major Roy James Blakeley (December 10, 1928 - July 22, 1965) - USAF (KIA)

When I was young my dad would say
Come on son let's go out and play

No matter how hard I try
No matter how many tears I cry
No matter how many years go by
I still can't say goodbye

- "I Still Can't Say Goodbye," Performer: Chet Atkins

MP3 audio file/lyrics http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/still_cant_say_goodbye.htm

For a larger image click on the photograph.

 

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/index.htm

How do "nations prepare their young men to engage in deadly wars and prepare citizens to support the risks of going to war, especially a war of aggression?" Could it be that "this difficult transformation is accomplished by a special form of cognitive conditioning" centered around ideology, such as national security in order to promote to us "the nice big lie for instituting a host of bad, illegal, immoral policies?" - "A Situationist Perspective on the Psychology of Evil: Understanding How Good People Are Transformed into Perpetrators," Philip G. Zimbardo, Ph.D. (See Articles of Interest http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/articles_of_interest.htm)

Post Date: October 16, 2007 at 7:50 AM CDT; 1250 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/larryblakeley_photos_jpeg.htm

A drawing by me at the age of 10 of The Boxer (DjVu image) http://www.royblakeley.name/roy_james_blakeley/george_436th_fighter_squadron/boxer_larry1964.djvu

In the clearing stands a boxer and a fighter by his trade,
And he carries the reminders of every glove that laid him down,
Or cut him 'til he cried out in his anger and his shame,
"I am leaving, I am leaving."
But the fighter still remains.
- "The Boxer," Simon and Garfunkel
MP3 audio file/lyrics http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/boxer.htm

Post Date: October 13, 2007 at 1:45 PM CDT; 1845 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web pages http://www.royblakeley.name/index.htm http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/quotations.htm

"I called on Dr. Johnson (Samuel Johnson) one morning, when Mrs. Williams, the blind lady, was conversing with him. She was telling him where she had dined the day before. 'There were several gentlemen there,' said she, 'and when some of them came to the tea-table, I found that there had been a good deal of hard drinking.' She closed this observation with a common and trite moral reflection; which, indeed, is very ill-founded, and does great injustice to animals -- 'I wonder what pleasure men can take in making beasts of themselves.' 'I wonder, Madam,' replied the Doctor, 'that you have not penetration to see the strong inducement to this excess; for he who makes a beast of himself gets rid of the pain of being a man.'"
- "Anecdotes of the Revd. Percival Stockdale; collected in 'Johnsonian Miscellanies'," edited by G.B. Hill, Oxford Clarendon Press, 1897. Accessed from The Internet Archive http://www.archive.org/index.php at URL: http://www.archive.org/details/johnsonianmiscel02hilluoft (page 333).

Post Date: October 13, 2007 at 11:05 CDT; 1605 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/index.htm

My life is everything that feeds my thirst - that causes sin.
My wants are all I care - no shame or guilt.
There's nothing there.
Look deep into my face.
I sell deceit without a trace.
Fear not what I can do unless you want it done to you.

Well, as I climb onto your back I will promise not to sting.
I will tell you what you want to hear and not mean anything.
Then I'll treat you like a dog as I shoot my venom in.
You pretend you didn't know that I am The Scorpion - oh.

- "The Scorpion," Audio MP3/Lyrics http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/scorpion_megadeth.htm

Post Date: October 10, 2007 at 9:15 AM CDT; 1415 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web pages http://www.royblakeley.name/emotional_statements_lblakeley.htm and http://www.royblakeley.name/roy_james_blakeley/remains_returned_funeral_burial.htm

Adagio for Strings, Samuel Barber MP3 audio file (12.2 MB) http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/adagio_for_strings_barber.mp3

Post Date: October 9, 2007 at 6:12 AM CDT; 1112 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/index.htm

Blackbird singing in the dead of night
Take these broken wings and learn to fly
All your life
You were only waiting for this moment to arise.

Blackbird singing in the dead of night
Take these sunken eyes and learn to see
All your life
You were only waiting for this moment to be free.

Blackbird fly, blackbird fly
Into the light of the dark black night.

- "Blackbird," Paul McCartney (Beatles) MP3 Audio/Lyrics http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/blackbird.htm

Post Date: October 6, 2007 at 1:30 PM CDT; 1830 GMT

***************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/index.htm

Love, risin' from the mists
Promise me this and only this
Holy breath touchin' me
Like a wind song
Sweet communion of a kiss

- "The Kiss," Audio MP3/Lyrics http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/the_kiss.htm

Post Date: October 4, 2007 at 8:55 AM CDT; 1355 GMT